Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove – Writers on the Classics #4

January 25, 2013 — Leave a comment


Jonathan Wilson-HartgroveIn 2013, we are encouraging our readers to mix up their reading habits, and read (or re-read) classics in addition to new books, such as the ones we review here in the ERB.

Broadly speaking, a classic is any book that is not a new book, or in other words that is worth reading five, ten or even one hundred years after its initial publication. ERB Editor Chris Smith has an article on The Huffington Post website arguing for reading a mix of classics and new books in 2013.

We’ve asked a number of noted writers to pick the classics that they often return to, and we will be running these lists as a weekly feature on our website through 2013.

This week’s post in the series is by Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove.

Writers on the Classics:
[ #1 – Shane Claiborne ] [ Most recent, #3 – Scott Russell Sanders ]

Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove is the author of many books, including our 2010 Book of the Year The Wisdom of Stability. Jonathan is a member of the Rutba House Christian community in Durham, NC, and most of his writing connects in one way or another with his experience as part of an intentional Christian community. His latest book is The Awakening of Hope, which was mentioned on our Best Books of 2012 list.

The Wisdom of the Desert Fathers and Mothers

The Rule of Saint Benedict

Kindle ebook for only $0.99!

Confessions – St. Augustine
FREE Kindle ebook

The Showings of Julian of Norwich

[ Click to continue reading Jonathan’s list on Page 2… ]