Reading Guides

Twelve Important Fiction Books of 2020!!!

As the end of 2020 draws near, we highlight some of the most important fiction books released this year…

Although some of these fiction books will appear on our Advent calendar of 2020’s Best Books (and no, we won’t reveal here which ones will be on that list), we won’t say that these are the 12 BEST fiction books — just that they are important ones that should be widely read and discussed… 

We feature our novel of the year first, and after that the remaining book are in alphabetical order by the author’s last name….  

Twelve Important Theology Books of 2020

 *** What one novel would you add to this list?

Fiction Books 2020Thoughts & Prayers: A Novel in Three Parts

Bryan Bliss

(Greenwillow Books)

Fight. Flight. Freeze. What do you do when you can’t move on, even though the rest of the world seems to have? 

For readers of Jason Reynolds, Marieke Nijkamp, and Laurie Halse Anderson. Powerful and tense, Thoughts & Prayers is an extraordinary novel that explores what it means to heal and to feel safe in a world that constantly chooses violence.

Claire, Eleanor, and Brezzen have little in common. Claire fled to Minnesota with her older brother, Eleanor is the face of a social movement, and Brezzen retreated into the fantasy world of Wizards & Warriors.

But a year ago, they were linked. They all hid under the same staircase and heard the shots that took the lives of some of their classmates and a teacher. Now, each one copes with the trauma as best as they can, even as the world around them keeps moving.

Told in three loosely connected but inextricably intertwined stories, National Book Award–longlisted author Bryan Bliss’s Thoughts & Prayers follows three high school students in the aftermath of a school shooting. Thoughts & Prayers is a story about gun violence, but more importantly it is the story of what happens after the reporters leave and the news cycle moves on to the next tragedy. It is the story of three unforgettable teens who feel forgotten.



<<<<< PREV. BOOK |
NEXT BOOK >>>>>
Book 4 of 12


ADVERTISEMENT:
Holiday Gift Ideas

KEEP UP WITH ALL
THE LATEST BOOK NEWS!

Enter your email below to sign up for our weekly digest & get this useful ebook for free! 
101 Transformative Books
for Churches to Read & Discuss
DOWNLOAD NOW


Comments are closed.