Conversations, VOLUME 8

Englewood Honor Books – Best Books of 2015

Here is our list of 2015′s Englewood Honor Books, the Best Books of the year for the life and flourishing of the Church.

Our criterion both for selecting books to review and for honoring the year’s best books is to choose books that are “for the life and flourishing of the Church” – i.e., books that energize us to be the local community of God’s people that God has called us to be and that nurture our mission of following in the way of God’s reconciliation of all things (in all its broadness!).

[ Book of the Year ]  [ Theology ] [ Praxis ]
[ Fiction ]  [ Non-Fiction ]  [ Poetry ]


Best Poetry Book of the Year:


[easyazon_image align=”center” height=”500″ identifier=”1612616577″ locale=”US” src=”” tag=”douloschristo-20″ width=”325″]

Slow Pilgrim: The Collected Poems of Scott Cairns

Paperback: Paraclete Press

Buy now:  [ [easyazon_link identifier=”1612616577″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]Amazon[/easyazon_link] ]   

Following his collection Idiot Psalms in 2014, Scott Cairns is the first poet to have won this award in back-to-back years.
“The God who gives life, who is the end and aim of all beauty and good, can be seen poking his wry smile through these pages. This book is a gift, a companion, and a joy. Cairns has managed to bequeath to us a collection of poems so alive with Christian truth, and so unreservedly human, that we can do little else but receive it with gratitude and squeak out a meager ‘thank you.’” – Stephen Lawson

Other Winners:

[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”0822963310″ locale=”US” src=”” tag=”douloschristo-20″ width=”120″]
[easyazon_link identifier=”0822963310″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude (Pitt Poetry Series)[/easyazon_link]
Ross Gay
Paperback: U of Pittsburgh Press.
 [easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”1101875437″ locale=”US” src=”” tag=”douloschristo-20″ width=”107″]
[easyazon_link identifier=”1101875437″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]Voyage of the Sable Venus: and Other Poems[/easyazon_link]
Robion Coste Lewis
Hardback: Knopf.
[easyazon_image align=”left” height=”160″ identifier=”1935952390″ locale=”US” src=”” tag=”douloschristo-20″ width=”102″]
[easyazon_link identifier=”1935952390″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]This World: Poems[/easyazon_link]
Teddy Macker
Paperback: White Cloud Press


CLICK HERE to see our list of Englewood Honor Books from previous years

 <<<<<< PREV. PAGE  |  Back to TOP >>>>>>


C. Christopher Smith is the founding editor of The Englewood Review of Books. He is also author of a number of books, including most recently How the Body of Christ Talks: Recovering the Practice of Conversation in the Church (Brazos Press, 2019). Connect with him online at:

Reading for the Common Good
From ERB Editor Christopher Smith

"This book will inspire, motivate and challenge anyone who cares a whit about the written word, the world of ideas, the shape of our communities and the life of the church."
-Karen Swallow Prior

Enter your email below to sign up for our weekly newsletter & download your FREE copy of this ebook!
We respect your email privacy

In the News...
Christian Nationalism Understanding Christian Nationalism [A Reading Guide]
Most AnticipatedMost Anticipated Books of the Fall for Christian Readers!
Funny Bible ReviewsHilarious One-Star Customer Reviews of Bibles

Comments are closed.