Kathleen Norris – Intro Reading Guide

July 27, 2017


This week marked the 70th birthday of poet and memoirist.  In honor of the occasion, we offer this introductory reading guide to her work.

We’ve ordered this list in the order that we think the books should be read, and we offer a brief explanation of why each book was included. We’ve included excerpts of most the books via Google Books.

4. [easyazon_link identifier=”1594484384″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]Acedia & me: A Marriage, Monks, and a Writer’s Life[/easyazon_link][easyazon_link identifier=”0060611790″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]The Alphabet of Grace[/easyazon_link]


*** Our 2008 Book of the Year! ***
[ Read our Review ]

    Norris uses her own life, and particularly the story of her marriage to the late poet David Dwyer, as a framework to explore the multi-faceted temptations of acedia in the present age.  Thus, her writing style follows in the pattern established in her previous autobiographical works including Dakota and The Cloister Walk.  Her crystalline prose penetrates to the heart of the reader and her frequent illustrations from history (in this case, especially those from the monastic tradition) and literature draw the reader into a grand conversation about temptation, sin, desire, grace and hope – i.e., the fundamental elements of human nature.



<<<<< PREV. BOOK | NEXT BOOK>>>>>>


Image Credit: From the cover to the excellent book [easyazon_link identifier=”1606741136″ locale=”US” tag=”douloschristo-20″]Embracing a Life of Meaning: Kathleen Norris on Discovering What Matters[/easyazon_link]… (Buy it now!)