Flannery O’Connor – Introductory Reading Guide

August 5, 2016 — Leave a comment



This week marked the anniversary of the death of Flannery O’Connor (3 August 1964), one of the greatest fiction writers of the twentieth century.

To mark the occasion, we offer the following introductory reading guide to her work.

We’ve ordered this list in the order that we think the books should be read, and we offer a brief explanation of why each book was included. We’ve included excerpts of most the books via Google Books.

*** Don’t miss these rare clips of
Flannery O’Connor reading her work 


3. The Violent Bear It Away: A Novel


The other of Flannery’s two novels, The Violent Bear it Away is perhaps the supreme example of the Southern Gothic writing for which Flannery was known.




<<<<< PREV. BOOK | NEXT BOOK>>>>>>