2016 Printz, Newbery and Caldecott Award Winners Announced.

January 12, 2016


Yesterday, the winners of the 2016 Printz, Newbery and Caldecott Awards for books intended for young readers were announced.

The Michael L. Printz Award is an American Library Association literary award that annually recognizes the “best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit”.

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The award is given to the author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.”

The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the preceding year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children”

2016 Winners:

(Click on the links for excerpts from the books and interviews with the authors)

Printz Award:  Laura Ruby for Bone Gap

Newbery Award: Matt de la Peña for the picture book Last Stop on Market Street

Caldecott Award: Sophie Blackall for Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear


NEXT PAGE (Bone Gap) >>>>>>